Types of monkeys with the names, characteristics of each breed

We know from history that the monkey appeared in the Mesozoic era 200 million years ago. For many years these creatures have changed little. Monkeys are called primates, i.e., primary, main.

The brain of apes a little less human, but more evolved than other animals. Therefore, these mammals are very intelligent.

Exterior features monkeys

The eyes are deep set, bulging, the pupil is small. Mouth large, bulging forward. Teeth are formed in 2 stages: in young individuals appear baby teeth in adulthood dairy are replaced by permanent. The ears are large, protruding forward.

Limbs front legs in many species of monkeys are similar to human. First finger opposable to the four others. At your fingertips are nails. Back hunched.

Growth depends on the species of mammal. It varies from 15 cm (dwarf) to 2.5 meters (Gorilla). The coat is dense and heterogeneous. Color brown, black, grey, chestnut.

The types of tiny monkeys
  • The pygmy marmoset.

Considered the smallest representative of monkeys. Tamarins length of 11-15 cm, weight from 100 to 150 grams. It easily fits in the palm of your hand. Habitat – Colombia, Ecuador, Peru. The coat is of a reddish hue, thick. The animal seems to be in 2 times more. Lives in the trees, conducts a day way of life, very nimble and mobile. Tamarins too neat and pay great attention to cleansing the hair each other. They feed on tree SAP, insects, fruit. The photo shows all the beauty of these small primates.

  • Tamarin.

Body length is 31 cm, the Tail reaches a length of 44 cm Weight 300 grams. A characteristic feature of these monkeys is the presence of beard and mustache. Color brown, yellowish, brown with black spots. Live in America and Colombia. Live in families in the trees. Feed on insects, bird eggs, plants, fruit.

  • Squirrel monkeys.

These primates are found in South America in the forests located near water. The body length is 25-35 cm, weight 1 kg. the Tail is long – 40 cm Color grayish-yellow. Very agile, can easily jump 5 meters. Day awake and the night asleep. If there is a danger emit a high-pitched scream still frozen on the spot. An inexperienced person will not notice the squirrel monkey, even “under his nose”. Eat eggs and nestlings, fruits, nuts, shellfish.

The types of medium-sized monkeys
  • Capuchin.

Live in South America. Body length 50-70 cm, Weight 4-5 kg. These monkeys are too clever and very shy. On the treetops where they live, Capuchins find their own food. They eat frogs, insects, steal birds ‘ eggs. Capuchins are easy to train, so popular with lovers of monkeys. Can live up to 50 years.

  • A Howler monkey.

Live in Brazil, Central and South America. Maximum height 70 cm, Weight 5-8 kg. the Tail is long and prehensile, at length reaches almost body length – 60-70 cm Every morning like roosters, they make loud noises to intimidate enemies. And also, these sounds attract females and show the rivals that this is their territory. Eat Howler monkeys leaves, plants and fruits. Prey on birds, insects and even larger snakes.

  • A spider monkey or spider monkey.

Live in Brazil, Mexico, South and Central America. Height is 40-60 cm Length of the tail reaches a length of 90 cm Weight 5-10 kg. Awake by day and sleep by night. Escaping a predator, it can have much time to spend on the top of the tree. They feed on wild figs, plants. Will not refuse individuals from a mouth-watering fruit. They live a maximum of 40 years.

  • Baboon.

Live baboons in southern and Eastern Africa. Body length is 70-80 cm, the Weight ranges from 30 to 45 kg. Colour yellowish brown. Baboons feed on plants, fruit, leaves, bark. Best lunch baboons are caught Gazelle, antelope. Babuna live in clans that are always leaders. If the baboon is hungry and nearby human house, he will gladly climb into the structure for sustenance. They are very agile and noticing the enemy, quickly climb a tree for shelter. The life expectancy of baboons is 40 years.

  • Colobus.

Silver carp monkeys (colobus monkeys) live in the dense forests of Ethiopia, Senegal, Nigeria, Guinea. These primates can climb to a height of 3 thousand meters. They rarely descend from the trees and are nocturnal. The growth of colobus monkeys high 70 cm, weight – 12 kg. the Tail performs the function of the fifth limb. Color black & white, back is of a reddish hue. With mind these primates are very beautiful and majestic. The feature of the monkeys is the absence of the thumb on the hands. Colobus monkeys feed on the leaves of trees, bark, fruit.

  • Langur.

Langurs belong to the family of monkey. Growth 75 cm, maximum weight 20 kg. primates Feed on fruits, vegetation. Jumping languru reach a length of ten meters. Habitat Thailand, Tibet, India. Langurs may live in areas where snow falls.

  • Monkey.

Macaques live in the forests and mountains, and even in urban areas. The increase in specimens 40-70 cm, weight 14 kg max Color brown, yellow, brown, black. Monkeys adapt well to urban life. Amenable to learning. In the wild they live in flocks of 10 to 20 individuals. Each has its own function in the family. Live specimens in Nepal, Northern India, China. They feed on small animals, leaves, fruit.

  • Gibbon.

Gibbons live in Southeast Asia. The weight of primates 6-9 kg, height 40-90 see Gibbons Eat fruits, vegetation, eggs and Chicks, insects. The primates live in families: parents and cubs. When the young male grows up, he goes into the woods to look for a girlfriend. But there are those instances that don’t want to leave the family hearth. The parent has to expel their child.

Large monkey
  • The orang-utan.

Live in Kalimantan and Sumatra. The growth of large individuals up to 130 cm, weight 90-120 kg. Orangutans live alone or in harems. One male may have several females and other representatives of this breed do not have the right to enter the premises. If this daredevil appears, both males scatter to different trees and begins to violently shake. This can continue for hours, until one of them removed. They feed the orangutans bananas, plums, leaves and bark.

  • Gorilla.

The gorilla is the largest of all apes. The growth of a Primate reaches 2 meters and a weight of 280 kg. this species Lives in Central Africa. Primates eat only vegetation. Live groups: 2 males, several females and cubs.

Gorillas have a fearsome appearance, but by themselves they are friendly. If males feel threatened, they start beating the chest with hands, much to growl. So they are protected from enemies. The life expectancy of gorillas 50 years.

There is a great many subspecies of these mammals. All the subspecies differ depending on location and habitat, ecological conditions, weather, and food preferences.

3 Comments on “Types of monkeys with the names, characteristics of each breed”

  1. Usually I do not read post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, very nice post.

  2. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome site!

  3. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an impatience over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *